Bright or Blue – What’s it about?!

The release of Bright or Blue draws near.  I have seen the completed proof and struggle to put words to the whirlwind of feelings that that moment brought with it.  Pride? Excitement? Amazement? Fear? Happiness?  Yes, all of those.

So it’s on its way – but, what’s it even about?!  At the most basic level, Bright or Blue is a story about the power of mindfulness and positive attitude.  We may not have control over everything that happens to us each day but we can control how we react to those things.

“I have the power to shape my days.”

Alright, so I wrote a children’s book about mindfulness and positive attitude.  Easy, right?  Well, I discovered quickly that in order to write about mindfulness and positivity I really needed to surround myself with it.  That meant distancing myself from negative influences in my life.  Anyone or anything with negative energy shacking up in my mind simply had to be kicked out.  Practice what you preach, you know?  What I found, what we all have the opportunity to find, is that when you let go of those negative thoughts, when you really pay attention to your thoughts and rearrange them and respond accordingly, you feel lighter, freer.  At least I did.

We live in a world, or maybe it’s just the time, where we feel we have to do/be/have everything.  That drive is exhausting and we often forget to take care of ourselves.  Or worse, we feel guilty for taking care of ourselves.

I know, I’ve been there.  So believe me when I say – you need to take care of yourself!  Put yourself first.  Put yourself in a position where you are healthy and mindful enough to then be better able to help others.  And teach the children in your life to be mindful of their words and thoughts and how they effect their own mood as well as the people around them.  You can start by reading Bright or Blue to them.  😉

I’ll hop down off my soapbox shortly, but first I ask you to consider something;  If you have ever been on an airplane you should be familiar with the pre-flight emergency information and instructions.  They tell you where the emergency exits are, where to find your personal flotation device, and they inform you that should the oxygen masks deploy at any time to secure your own mask BEFORE assisting others.  Why?  Well, if you pass out because you felt too guilty to take care of yourself first you’re no longer able to help ANYONE.  Apply that to your life.  Affix your own hypothetical oxygen mask first, take your time, breathe deep.  You’ll find that when you’re at your best – your loved ones benefit from the happy, healthy you as well.

<end unsolicited advice>

If you’re interested in taking a look at the completed book cover for Bright or Blue just hop on over to the Splashing Cow website and scroll down.  I’d love to hear what you think.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin Frank
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 03:21:08

    I am so excited to use your book in the mindfulness curriculum that I will be teaching in our Montessori School. Can’t wait until the release date!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

