‘Great’ Ideas (and why it’s ok to defy your comfort zone)

Sometimes I come up with these really great ideas.  Like the time, when my son was just a few months old, I decided I wanted to learn how to drive a motorcycle.  Why I chose that time, with a new little person completely dependent on me, to learn how to drive a two-wheeled death machine is still a little fuzzy.  But, I got the idea in my head and there was nothing left to do but follow through.  I took a weekend class, passed my test, and was the proud recipient of a motorcycle endorsement.  Nine years later, I’m still here.  I guess that ‘great’ idea didn’t turn out so bad.

More recently, my great idea led me to a daily writing routine and the purchase of a antique writing desk.Antique Secretary Desk

I started with an online children’s book writing course to get a feel for the industry and to brush up on any grammar and punctuation rules that may have fled my mind since my school days.  I began writing every morning.  I purchased reference materials, read countless blogs and articles online about writing for children, and spent a lot of time at my local library.  Everything went swimmingly up to and including the point when Splashing Cow Books accepted my manuscript.  However, all the reference materials in the world couldn’t have prepared me for the fact that I suddenly and knowingly thrust myself into a very media-driven profession.

So what’s the big deal, Kim?”

I am a very private person.

It’s not that I don’t like to share my life and adventures with others but sitting back, observing, and listening have always come more naturally to me than divulging information about myself.  In fact, there were only three people in the world who knew I was even writing and two of them live with me.  I didn’t even tell my mom until I signed the publication contract.

So, yeah, the moment it hit me, the moment I realized I was going to have to put myself out there, I was a little freaked out.  But I’m also a reasonable and realistic being and I completely understand that if I don’t wander away from my comfort zone my book won’t sell.  And I may be a bit partial here but I want my book to sell.  I don’t need fame (I’m WAY too awkward for that!) but I do love the idea of a young child sitting in her parent’s lap as they share my story with one another.  I love reading and I love meeting people who love reading.  I think it’s especially awesome when parents take the time to read to and with their children.

I am extremely grateful for this semi-uncomfortable position that I’ve found myself in.  If my book makes its way into the hands of just one eager young reader I will consider my writing career a great success.

Breaking free from your comfort zone may always be a scary experience.  However, I do hope it’s also a liberating one.  In my experience, ‘great’ ideas may be a bit frightening or untimely (not to mention the likelihood of failure!) but things usually turn out pretty ok.

And I’m ok with that.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Petula Lloyd
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 00:38:12

    How exciting! I’m glad to hear your book has been published. It’s also exciting to get out of your comfort zone – soon that zone will be comfortable too. 🙂 Much success.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

